“A Kid’s Fun Way of Decorating a Gingerbread Man!” (By: Michele Babcock-Nice)

Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

There are ways of decorating cookies…and then, there are ways of decorating cookies!  Each year for the past several years, my son has frosted, decorated, and candied gingerbread houses and/or gingerbread men.  Being no expert at baking these large gingerbread creations, I have purchased them from stores or either St. Nicholas or Santa Claus has left them as gifts for my son for St. Nicholas Day or Christmas. 

My Son Frosting and Decorating a Gingerbread Man Cookie, December 2012

My Son Frosting and Decorating a Gingerbread Man Cookie, December 2012

In the past, I had pretty good luck with buying gingerbread houses in which all of the pieces are fully intact.  Last year, however, I had no such luck, and we ended up decorating quite a broken-down gingerbread house!  This year, I believe that St. Nicholas must have sensed that, and brought my son a giant-sized gingerbread man cookie to decorate, instead. 

My Son Enjoying his Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

My Son Enjoying his Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

So, on an enjoyable vacation day before Christmas, my son frosted, decorated, and candied his giant gingerbread man.  I was so happy that the cookie remained whole and all in one piece during shipping!  Hurray!  Placing the cookie on a large plate, the candies in a bowl, and snipping the edge of the frosting pouch, my son set to work. 

My Son Taking Pride in his Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

My Son Taking Pride in his Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating, December 2012

After frosting some parts of the gingerbread man, he selected and placed the his chosen candies on the cookie.  He repeated this process a few times before completing his decorating.  And, wallah!  He decorated a wonderfully festive and delicious gingerbread cookie which we allowed some time to set up and later sample.

The Giant Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating is Complete, December 2012

The Giant Gingerbread Man Cookie Decorating is Complete, December 2012

Once he was finished decorating, my son kindly allowed me to eat a hand of the gingerbread man, and, so far, he has already eaten the remaining three appendages of the poor guy.  Lol.  I must say that the cookie hand of the gingerbread man was very tasty and sweet, albeit somewhat hard, although that is the main reason, thankfully, for the entire cookie staying in one piece.

The Finished Product, as Displayed Prior to Consumption, December 2012

The Finished Product, as Displayed Prior to Consumption, December 2012

I would like to thank the “Create a Treat Ltd” company, located in Brampton, Ontario, Canada for making this lovely, giant gingerbread man cookie, and for including the candies and frosting, as well as for packaging it so well to prevent breakage!  St. Nicholas, Santa Claus, moms, parents, and kids throughout North America have doubtlessly enjoyed so many of your baked creations.  And, I, for one, am grateful that they have been made with such care and expertise.  The photos included within my article are a reflection that my son is grateful, too.  Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

