“I Love Waffles!” (By: Michele Babcock-Nice)

Blueberry Eggo Waffle Box, January 2013

Empty Blueberry Eggo Waffle Box, January 2013

The topic of loving waffles has been on my mind for awhile.  I just had to take the plunge, going ahead and sharing about my love for waffles!  (lol)  At least it will be something to lighten up my day.

Ever since I was a kid, I have enjoyed waffles, especially homemade waffles, Belgian waffles, M&M waffles, and the blueberry waffles by Eggo.  Often, as a child, especially on Sundays after church for brunch, my mom would make waffles for my brother and me.  If we were especially lucky and if I pleaded enough, we would get waffles with M&Ms in them – yummy!

As I have gotten older and have come to be much more careful about how I spend my money, Eggo waffles have become a staple of my diet.  Waffles are particuarly easy on the budget, and much less expensive that even various kinds of cereals.  I particuarly prefer the blueberry Eggo waffles.  Typically, I eat blueberry waffles every morning for breakfast, unless I am on the run, in which cases I take along and eat a granola bar. 

There are times – such as last week, for instance – that I eat my blueberry waffles a couple of times per day.  Last week, I ate my blueberry waffles for breakfast and for another main meal, on two different days.  When there is nothing else, or when I am eating alone and want a quick meal, I just open the freezer, get out a couple of my blueberry waffles, pop them in the toaster, and I’m all set! 

There are some days when I feel that I’m running so far behind on everything that it’s already time to pick up my son from school.  Lunchtime has passed and it’s already 2:30 PM.  So, what do I do in situations such as that?  You guessed it!  I pop a couple of my blueberry waffles in the toaster, toast them just long enough that they are slightly crispy, and eat them on the go!

Sometimes I eat so many waffles, I feel like I could become a waffle!  I’m surprised that I haven’t yet started dreaming about waffles.  There are so many waffles in my life, I cannot avoid them, I cannot escape them.  They are a part of who I am.  I love my waffles!

If you should ever come to visit me and get hungry, please know that there is never any shortage of waffles in the house.  You can have waffles with fruit, waffles with ice cream, or just plain waffles.  If you don’t like waffles, however, you will be hard-pressed to find much of anything else that I could offer that you might enjoy eating. (lol)

So, here’s to all of you who enjoy, like, or love waffles!  I know that I will always be a fan of a good waffle.  Do you know what?  I think it’s time to go and have some waffles! (lol)

Leave a Reply

