Paying the Price for Sight (By: Michele Babcock-Nice)

Glasses (from allaboutvision.com, September 5, 2014)

Glasses (from allaboutvision.com, September 5, 2014)

I gave in.  I tolerated it for about one year, but finally decided that I needed to go to my optometrist for another eye exam.  One year ago, it had been five years since my previous eye exam.  I really had not needed to go because there were no changes in my vision.  I decided to go last year just to have a routine eye exam completed, and to get new glasses. 

Last year, I went to a different optometrist than my usual doctor.  I went to a lady in my immediate area, and she completed my eye exam so fast that I have resolved never to return to her again – or take any of my family members to her either.  She lost my business.  Her eye exam reflected that my vision had improved, but in fact, the prescription for lenses that she gave me was not strong enough.  This is what my regular optometrist confirmed upon my inquiry during my most recent eye exam about two weeks ago.

The lady who completed my eye exam last year prescribed me lenses that were not strong enough, and thus, the reason for the headaches I had been having.  Rather than return to her and have another eye exam, I reverted back to my old glasses (my five year old glasses) and wore them.  A couple of months ago, the frame of my glasses popped apart, and I paid $65 at a local jewelry store to get it repaired.  I like those frames, so it was worth getting them repaired.  But, I was back to wearing my five year old glasses again.

In the past year, I also experienced another issue.  Not only could I not see objects at a distance clearly, my vision was worsening while reading close up.  At 42, I knew I would need separate glasses for reading, or have to get bifocals soon.  It took me one year of trying to navigate with my vision changes for reading close up before I gave in.  I am now getting bifocals.  It is a sure sign of age when people have to get bifocals.  I joke with my son that I’m truly an “old lady” now because I can’t see.  Lol.

Last year, I spent $100s on my eye exam and the two new pairs of glasses that I purchased – that were the incorrect vision strength.  It is a hardship for me to pay that much money.  I was burned, and so I will not return to that optometrist, nor will I recommend her.  That was money down the drain.

Two weeks ago, I again spent $100s on my vision.  My eye exam was $90, while my glasses frames were $100, and each lens was $105.  This time, I didn’t get myself a spare pair of glasses, but settled for one.  If my vision worsens soon, I will be out those $100s anyway.

Even at spending $400 for my eye exam and new glasses, I probably spent less than I would have if I purchased vision insurance independently.  I don’t have any insurance, so I have to pay out-of-pocket for everything.  It gets very costly, and I have to pick and choose which healthcare providers to see and for what reasons.  It would be nice to have health insurance, and not be too poor to be eligible to receive Medicaid. 

So, again this year, I have paid the price for sight.  I had not intended to spend another several hundred dollars on my vision again this year.  That money could have gone for other things.  I did really well with my vision going unchanged for about five years, however, and am grateful for that.  Now that I’m an old lady, I’m sure that I’ll be getting much use out of my new bifocals.

Leave a Reply

